always strikes first and extra ranks

Ask any rules specific questions here
Aleorion

always strikes first and extra ranks

#1 Post by Aleorion »

Hello everyone. I'm not new to warhammer lore, but I'm new to the 8th edition.
I recently builded my new chracian army after 15 years.
I know it may be a very stupid question but I'm not able to find an answer: high elves have the always strikes first rule + martial prowess.

Does it mean that, against a lower initiative opponent, all the extra ranks can also re-roll the failed rolls to hit? Or only the first two ranks?

I know this may sounds dumb, but I'm reading all the rules again and again, and after 15 years is a little bit difficult to remember every rule.

Sorry for my bad english.
SpellArcher
Green Istari

Re: always strikes first and extra ranks

#2 Post by SpellArcher »

Welcome Aleorion.

:)

I've double-checked the rulebooks (and rulebook FAQ) and can see no reason why the extra ranks should be treated differently. So yes, the extra ranks can re-roll to hit against foes with equal or lower initiative. I've played many tournament games both with and against High Elves and this is the way it has always been treated.

We'd be interested to hear about your army, including photos if you have any!
Aleorion

#3 Post by Aleorion »

SpellArcher wrote:Welcome Aleorion.

:)

I've double-checked the rulebooks (and rulebook FAQ) and can see no reason why the extra ranks should be treated differently. So yes, the extra ranks can re-roll to hit against foes with equal or lower initiative. I've played many tournament games both with and against High Elves and this is the way it has always been treated.

We'd be interested to hear about your army, including photos if you have any!
Thanks a lot!!!

Wow, those rules combined sound killer. Even a simple block of spearmen with some magic can be really nasty for the enemy. Can't imagine other models like my beloved white lions or the swordmasters.