Lothern themed army help :)

All discussions related to Warhammer Fantasy Battles from 1st to 8th edition go here, including army construction, comp creation, campaign and scenarios design, etc...
Lothern

Lothern themed army help :)

#1 Post by Lothern »

Good evening ✌

I'm soon to start a 2000 HE army, based off Lothern/eatine. Havent got my hands in the book yet so need some input ☺

I read colours are white, red and yellow. Anyone have pics of that? ☺

I'm thinking Lvl 4 high magic with ToP with 20 PG with razor std. Bsb with reaver bow and str pot ++. 2x20 seaguard, one with flaming banner, 4 Bolt Throwers, 2 Eagles and some cav, maybe dragon princes? Hows that fluffwise?

The army is for fluff, I dont care for powerlevel ☺
SpellArcher
Green Istari

Re: Lothern themed army help :)

#2 Post by SpellArcher »

Hi Lothern and welcome!

:)

The army actually looks quite respectable power-wise, with that strong shooting phase. I'm no expert on the fluff but I guess PG are mysterious and might show up anywhere. Dragon Princes might be a little harder to rationalise, other cavalry being more common. Depends how strict you want to be I guess.
Prince of Spires
Auctor Aeternitatum

#3 Post by Prince of Spires »

Hi Lothern, welcome to the forum.

I don't have any pics of red, white and yellow elves. But if you want just red and white elves, check my plog. Link is in my signature.

You can't really go wrong with PG with the razor standard in my view. :)

Units that work in a lothern list are:
- WL: they are the bodyguards of the phoenix kings after all
- PG: they have a ceremonial role together with the phoenix king. Also, they show up where they want
- Skycutter: flying lothern seaguard
- LSG
- Boltthrowers
- eagles
- Silvers helms (they come from everywhere after all)

Any combination of them will create a nice, fluffy list. So, from what you suggested, I would swap out the cavalry for a skycutter or two, or use Silver helms (which are a good core unit).

Rod