The Learning Curve

All discussions related to games of fantasy battles such as AoS, T9A, KoW, MESBG, WAP, Warmaster, etc go here, including army construction, comp creation, campaign and scenarios design, etc...
20phoenix

The Learning Curve

#1 Post by 20phoenix »

As discussed in another thread I'm new to T9A so this thread will follow my faltering footsteps through learning the game and list development. I'm hampered initially by the models I have so this is the first army I'm likely to put on the field:

Here's what I'm starting out with:

Characters (1314 points)

High Prince: Royal Huntsman on LC, Bluffers Helm, Talisman of Supreme Shielding, Shard of Cenryn, Great Weapon - 730 points

Commander: MoCT, BSB, Spear of the Blazing Dawn, Dragon Mantle, Heavy Armour, Shield, 4 Spells (3 Druidism, 1 Alchemy) - 584 points

Core (1160 points)

5 X Elein Reavers: Bows - 190 points
30 X Sea Guard: FC - 780 points

Peacekeepers (360 points)

2 X Reapers

Special (1282 points)

20 X Flame Wardens: FC, Rending Banner - 660 points
8 X Knights of Rymza: FC, War Banner of Rymza - 622 points

Ancient Allies (380 points)

Fire Phoenix - 380 points

Total - 4496

Plan is to put BSB in Wardens and the Prince in with the Knights.

Anything obviously wrong? Still getting to grips with rules so errors are expected.
elendor_f

Re: The Learning Curve

#2 Post by elendor_f »

I am also new to 9th Age but I usually follow the discussion in the HE forum there.

The LC Prince is usually running independently since Chariots can't march, he would slow down the Knights of Ryma (if I remember correctly).
You can get the KoR down to 5 or 6 (keep the magical banner).
With the points you can perhaps exchange one unit of Reavers for Lancers to get another Scoring unit (this is actually quite important in 9th Age).

For the MoCT people give him an arcane toy to increase his magic phase a bit since he can't be Wizard Master. However the Spear is crazy good to have also.