Asure of the White Coast -- Army Blog

This forum is for the posting of reports of your famous victories and crushing defeats. It is for both single battle reports and for ongoing army diaries/blogs.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

Purplesounds

Asure of the White Coast -- Army Blog

#1 Post by Purplesounds »

I've recently gotten back into fantasy after a year long break. I'm a veteran dark elf player but I had sold them off to buy a motorcycle. :twisted: I had three armies in my closet that were all half completed Tomb kings, Demons and High Elves. I tried the kings and demons first only to be extremely unsatisfied with how static the armies played. After coming from years of dancing around with flying units combined with a solid game in every phase playing armies that were slow and not possible to flee with just seemed a bore. I felt I was just reacting the best I could to every opponent instead of making them react to me. Thus I dragged out the High Elves. Two games later I fell back in love with fantasy.

I've signed up for the local GT in Little Rock in September which already boasts about 90 registered players. The tournament is to be played at 2200 points with kind of an interesting comp. Every army has a list of units (generally weaker units) and if you take these units you get bonuses to your overall score at the end of the tournament. The way it works is you get +1 point to your overall score for taking one of these, 2 units +3 points, 3 units + 6 points, and 4 units +10 points.

For High Elves the list breaks down like this.
Lords/Heroes = Dragon Mage, Sea Helm(nonBSB)
Core = 15+ Spears, 15+ Seaguard
Special = Lion Chariot, 2+ Tiranoc Chariot, Skycutter
Rare = 2+ Great Eagles, 8+ Sisters of Averlorn

So the idea I want to do is take one of the heroes, core, special and rare selection while still making one of the best lists I can so I still have a competitive army while getting +10 bonus points to my overall score.