1000 point local tourney

This forum is for 8th edition WHFB Army lists.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

LordUnknown

1000 point local tourney

#1 Post by LordUnknown »

So I have a 1000 point tourney coming up at my local GW and I was thinking of running this

Lords
Archmage - lvl 4 Death
Talisman of Preservation
Khaine's ring of fury
Talisman of Preservation

Core
15x Archers - full command
5x Reavers - Bow and Spear, Musician

Rare
2x Eagle Claw Bolt Thrower

Special
15x Phoenix Guard - Full Command

The thought behind this list is to sit back and force the enemy to come to me then tidy them up with the phoenix guard. But any C + C is appreciated.
Razzy Mac

Re: 1000 point local tourney

#2 Post by Razzy Mac »

Now I am a relative newb, but I've been putting together a lot of 1000 point lists myself the last week or so as I try to get started playing some games, so I guess I can share my thoughts, despite my limited experience.. Make of it what you will!

First and foremost, I would say that Level 4 is overkill for such a small game.. that's almost 300 of your 1000 points! Considering that a couple of rubbish winds rolls can kill his effectiveness for turns at a time, or a miscast could make him outright useless, that's a hell of a points sink.

I'd say the command on the archers is a waste, except the musician. The champion isn't worth it and if they're in combat they're probably toast anyway.