The Oriour, A Painting Blog: Dragon Maidens 8-3-16

Want tips? Have tips? Have pictures even? Well, post them here!

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

Cinncinatti

The Oriour, A Painting Blog: Dragon Maidens 8-3-16

#1 Post by Cinncinatti »

Hi All,

So I'm starting a painting/modelling blog for my Elves. Full disclosure, I started painting these guys last November and am only now just getting around to starting a blog. I'm hoping by the time I get through posting the backlog I will have amassed more assembled and painted models. But with two baby girls on the way and a three year old boy, who knows what kind of time I'll have for hobbying (I suspect not much). So bear this time gap in mind with any constructive criticism. If I can work any tips and tricks into future models, I will, but you might have to look at some substandard technique for a while.

I got back in the game after an almost 10 year hobby hiatus. My first army was a Skaven army back in 6th edition (so much brown...).
Played a game of Triumph and Treachery last August with an old friend and my hobby fire was rekindled. I picked up the IoB set and haven't looked back since.

So without further ado, here are the Oriour, the Blood Elves!

My inspiration for these guys are the Blood Elves from World of Warcraft. These guys were my first test models. I got the IoB box set and got to painting right away. I was so excited to get back in the swing of things I ignored the fact that I didn't have a proper brush yet. The one on the left came out the best, as he got the benefit of all the lessons learned on the first two. Still, I think they came out alright considering rust and a poor brush. It's hard to tell, but I've given them all green eyes like the WoW Blood Elves. It's a great cop out of actually attempting eyes!