New to whfb, army list help :o

This forum is for 7th edition WHFB Army lists.

Moderators: The Heralds, The Loremasters

Elixier

New to whfb, army list help :o

#1 Post by Elixier »

Hello, first I better introduce myself, im new to WH, been looking around this forum the past few weeks for some tips and I now have a game coming up, i think ill be facing O&G or VC or possibly both in a 2v2 setup. Now like I said, im totally new to the game and I have a small ammount of knowledge outside the High Elves, so basically if anybody can give me some advice on how to play these armies or give me a rough idea on an army list that would be viable it would be greatly appreciated. I have a fair sized army but not sure what to expect from the enemies. The game will be somewhere between 2k/3k ~ not 100% sure as of yet.

thanks, elixier
SpellArcher
Green Istari

Re: New to whfb, army list help :o

#2 Post by SpellArcher »

Well VC are a funny lot. Apologies if I go through stuff you know.

They play very differently to most armies. Firstly of course they are all Immune to Psychology so don't take Panic, Fear or Terror tests. They cannot flee charges for the same reason. Secondly they lose wounds in combat instead of taking Break tests so they never run. Thirdly they all cause Fear (or Terror in some cases). This means a unit of yours that loses to them in combat will autobreak. Fourthly, characters can be magically healed and units restored back to their starting strength. Fifthly, he has virtually no shooting so this gives you a bit of leeway with running vulnerable stuff around. Lastly, their units can be moved magically.

So I would:

1) Not get bogged down in combat with them unless you're awesome (Swordmasters?) or Fear-immune. Avoid them or aim to destroy them quickly by applying tremendous force.

2) Try to wipe units out with shooting or magic. If you leave even one model he can raise the rest back up.

3) Take good magic defence to stop him doing the above.